Yes to Erasmus4Media: 60 stakeholders support Stars4Media

This is the current list of 60 moral supporters to the “Stars4Media” pilot project proposal. In addition to 30 media interviewed in 6 countries under the prior #Media4EU research and editorial project. The pilot project name is under consideration. ‘Erasmus4Media’ explains it well (and the root has been used, eg for ‘Erasmus for young entrepreneurs’). But other names might stress better a) this is not about students or training only, b) it concerns promising young media professionals, not only journalists, and the cross-border projects they carry. Views welcomed separately.


15 members of the European Parliament signatories of the 2018 EP Budget Amendment:

(from 4 groups, 9 countries, 4 committees) *Moral supports but not signatories


Mr. Jerzy Buzek (MEP – EPP, Chair ITRE Committee, former Prime Minister) – PL

Mr. Elmar Brok (MEP – EPP & President of the Union of European Federalists) –DE

MsDanuta Hübner (MEP – EPP) – PL

Mr. Alain Lamassoure (MEP – EPP ) – FR

Ms. Eva Maydell (MEP, EPP ) – BG

Mr. Siegfried Mureşan (MEP, EPP Vice Chair of BUDG Committee & 2018 Budget Rapporteur) – RO


Ms. Mercedes Bresso (MEP – S&D) – IT

Ms. Sylvie Guillaume (VP European Parliament, MEP – S&D) – FR

Mr. Jo Leinen (MEP – S&D & President of European Movement International) – DE

MsMaria João Rodrigues (MEP – S&D) – PT

Mr. Jakob von Weizsäcker * (MEP – S&D) – DE

Ms. Silvia Costa (MEP – S&D) – IT


Mr. Jean Arthuis (MEP – ALDE, Chair BUDG Committee) – FR

Mr. Morten Løkkegaard (MEP – ALDE) – DK

Mr. Thierry Cornillet (MEP – ALDE) – FR

Greens/ EFA:

Ms. Helga Trüpel* (MEP – Greens/EFA) – DE

Mr. Benedek Jávor (MEP – Greens/EFA) – HU

And also:

Mr. Jacek Saryusz-Wolski* (MEP) – PL
MrIvailo Kalfin* (former MEP – S&D) – BG

10 Media Associations

Mr. Slobodan Sibincic (Secretary General of the European Business Press)

Mr. Vincent Peyrègne (CEO of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers)

Mr. Bertrand Pecquerie (CEO of the ‘Global Editors Network’)

Mr. Adam Thomas (Director of the European Journalism Centre)

Mr. Wilfried Ruetten (former Director of the European Journalism Centre)

Mr. Otmar Lahodynsky (President of Association of European Journalists)

Mr. Christophe Leclercq (founderFondation EURACTIV #Media4EU )

Mr. Tibor Macak (Secretary General of the Association of European Journalists)

Mr. Lieven Taillie (President of the Association of European Journalists -Belgium)

Mr. Maroun Labaki (President of the Press Club Brussels)

Mr. Roland Strauss (Managing Director of Knowledge4Innovation)

Mr. Peter Kramer (Editor-in-Chief – European Business Review)

Ms. Maria Pia Rossignaud (Director of MediaDuemila)

Mr. Bart Becks ( PLC, former Chair of iMinds)

13 Media (in addition to 30 #Media4EU interviews)

Mr. Gabriele Capolino (Director & Associated Editor of Class Editori)

MrJosé Manuel Sanz Mingote (Director of International Relations of EFE Noticias)

Mr. Quentin Dickinson, (Director of European Affairs of Radio France)

Mr. Jean-Michel Bos (Editor-In-Chief of Euranet Plus)

MrGian Paolo Accardo (Editor of

Mr. Fabio Carducci (Deputy Editor-In-Chief of Il Sole 24 ore)

MrRoman Imielski (Online Editor-In-Chief of Gazeta Wyborcza)

Mr. Nacho Cardero (Director of El Confidencial)

MrPawel Liciski (Editor -In-Chief of Do Rzeczy)

MsVirginia Perez Alonso (Deputy Editor-In-Chief of Público)

Mr. Alexandre Heully (Co-founder & Executive Director of Café Babel)

Ms. Irène Toporkoff (Co-founder of World Crunch)

Mr. Jean Brousse (Group Administrator of Centre France & Fondation Varenne)

Mr. Nicolas Horber (Representative of Radio Campus France, réseau des radios associatives)

Mr. Grzegorz Rzeczkowski (Editor-In-Chief of Polityka)

12 Media experts & others

Mr. Sandro Gozi (Deputy Secretary for European Affairs, Republic of Italy)

Mr. Domenico Lenarduzzi (Founder of the ERASMUS programme)

Mr. Guillaume Klossa (President of the M9M/Civico)
Mr. Petros Fassoulas (Secretary General of the European Movement International)

Mr. Philippe Cayla (former President of Euronews)

Mr. Fritz Groothuis (former Head of Strategy of the BBC)

Mr. Alberto Alemanno (Co-founder of The Good Lobby)

Mr. Giampiero Gramaglia (former Editor of ANSA, Professor at the Istituto d’Affari Internazionali)

Mr. Victor Fleurot (Initiator of the social think tank 2084/)

Mr. Miguel Castro (Senior Officer at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation)

Mr. Aidan White (CEO of the Ethical Journalism Network and former Secretary General of the International Federation of Journalists)

Ms. Laurence Aubron (Director and Founder of Euradionantes)

8 Academics & Youth

Prof. Caroline Pauwels (Rector VUB, founder of media dpt SMiT)

Prof. Ramona Coman (Director of the Institut d’Etudes Européennes (IEE) at the Université Libre de Bruxelles)

Prof. Dr Marga Pröhl (Director General of the European Institute of Public Administration)

Prof. Pier Luigi Parcu (Director of Florence School of Regulation Communications & Media)

Prof. Olivier Costa (Director, College of Europe)

Mr. Luis Alvarado Martinez (President of the European Youth Forum)

Ms. Ewa Ośniecka-Tamecka (Vice Rector of the College of Europe Natolin)

Mr. Martin Maska (Treasurer and Project Coordinator, European Youth Press)

Many experts have expressed their moral support to the Erasmus4media project. The full list is still open. If you wish to have your name considered, you can do so by:

  • Commenting on this blog post with your name, affiliation, and position
  • or emailing us with your feedback:

In addition, don’t hesitate to:

Please note that in most cases the names above gave their support in personal capacity. Affiliations are mentioned only out of transparency. See also: Media4EU early findings Media4EU Editorial series (EURACTIV– BlogActiv) – Tour d’Europe project description – steering committee.

Read more articles about Quality Journalism here:

1 thought on “Yes to Erasmus4Media: 60 stakeholders support Stars4Media

Leave a Reply